A total of 12 teams from the 6 geopolitical zones have converged on Akure and Minna to battle for a slot in the Total NBBF Division 2 National Finals between the 3rd and 8th of September.

The cities of Akure (Ondo State) and Minna (Niger State) are the early beneficiaries of the ongoing grassroots revolution under the Musa Kida led Nigeria Basketball Federation leadership.

After emerging as champions and runners up from their zones, the 12 teams have been divided into the Atlantic (Akure) and Savannah (Minna) where 8 teams from both conferences will qualify for the Total NBBF Division 2 National Finals.

In Minna, Prisons Basketball Club will battle Golden Touch, Adamawa Lions, Taraba D-hurricanes, Bukavu Blinks (Kano) and Samaru Bulls (Zaria) for one of the available tickets from the Savannah conference.

For the Akure fans, it will be an exciting time to watch host- Ondo Kings (Akure), Young Royals (Abeokuta), CAMAC Basketball Club (Bayelsa), Brave Heart (Calabar), Coal City Kings of Enugu and Abia Stars of Umuahia.

In line with the promise and agreement signed with Total Nigeria, the 12 teams have been supplied jerseys and financial subsidies.

NBBF President, Eng. Musa Kida expressed satisfaction with the preliminary reports received so far from stakeholders.

He said it can always get better if all parties concerned can rise up, come together and contribute their quota to uplift the game.